Yes, it is necessary and you cannot remove this step. It is important to keep a record of your users since, when they enroll in a course, there is a lot of information that, otherwise, you will not be able to have and will not allow you to carry out the necessary communication actions with it.
Thanks to the registration in your training platform you will be able to: