It can be for various reasons:
The user has not finished the course, that is, they have not viewed all the material or approved the exercises or tests.
The course edition is not closed. The open editions are intended for those courses that upload material on a regular basis. Once the course is complete, it must be marked as closed, or students won’t be able to finish it.